About Charitable Gift Planners Indiana

Charitable Gift Planners Indiana (CGPI) is a professional association for non-profit development officers and allied professionals. Our purpose is to educate members about charitable gift planning, advance the mission of non-profit organizations that employ them, and better serve the philanthropic goals of our donors and clients.

As one of the earliest councils, formed in 1988, CGPI is proud to be located in Indianapolis – known to many as the country’s heart of philanthropy.

CGPI is the Central Indiana affiliate of the National Association of Charitable Gift Planners (CGP), the professional association for those whose work involves developing, marketing, administering and advising charitable planned gifts. Originally created in 1988 as the National Committee on Planned Giving (NCPG), the National Association of Charitable Gift Planners (CGP) is a 501(c)(3) public charity whose mission is to help people and organizations create charitable giving experiences that are the most meaningful in achieving both charitable mission and the philanthropic, financial, family and personal goals of the donor.

CGP achieves its mission through research, education, advocacy, community dialogue and the setting of standards and best practices in philanthropic planning. CGP strives to engage all constituents in the charitable gift planning process: planned giving and major gifts professionals, nonprofit managers and trustees, financial and estate planners, trust managers and administrators.

Between CGP and the Indiana University Center on Philanthropy, CGPI has the highest caliber of resources available to provide continuing education and professional networking to the gift planning professionals in our community.

Individuals who have served as Presidents of CGPI include:

Bob Coffman, Anderson College
Andre Donikian, Pentera, Inc.
Mack McKinzie, Indianapolis Museum of Art
1993-1994 Art Baxter, Wabash College
1994-1995 Pamela Davidson, Davidson Gift Design
1995-1996 Gerald Cowan, Attorney at Law
1996-1997 Laura Hansen Dean, Attorney at Law
1997-1998 David Holaday, Holaday Consulting
1998-1999 Phil Purcell, Ball State University Foundation
1999-2000 Cheryl Cooper, Methodist Health Foundation
2000-2001 Diane Kennedy, Attorney at Law
2001-2002 Jim Wood, Indianapolis Zoological Society

2002-2003 Steve Thomas, St. Vincent Foundation
2003-2004 Cheryl Cooper, Methodist Health Foundation
2004-2005 Ed Sandifer, Indianapolis Zoological Society
2005-2006 John T. Keith, Indiana University Foundation
2006-2007 Jan Edmondson, Central Indiana Community Foundation
2007-2008 D. Mark Helmus, Butler University
2008-2009 Melanie J. Norton, DePauw University
2009-2010 David Troutman, Wabash College
2010-2011 Estacia Brandenburg, Indiana University Foundation - Indianapolis
2011-2012 Gretchen Hueni, Park Tudor School
2012-2013 Gregory W. Baker, Renaissance Administration
2013-2014 Jim Graham, Rehabilitation Hospital Foundation
2014-2015 Mary Stanley, Central Indiana Community Foundation
2015-2016 Mike Falker, Taylor University
2016-2017 Kate Brinkerhoff, Riley Children's Foundation
2017-2018 Joe Gaafar, Sustainable Designs for Growth